Personal connection with topic: sports

Hello readers!

My name is Elien Van der Jeucht and I am 21 years old. Back in Belgium, I am a last year economics student and therefore I wanted to finish my academic training abroad. Studying in Belgium was fun but I felt the urge to spread my wings and to discover new things. Now that I am here, you’ll be able to read up on my plans throughout this semester.

downloadCata, Jana, Suzan and me are 4 women who have an urge to discover the world. Thanks to our Erasmus-project, is was possible to finally go on a big journey and discover a different country and an amazing, vibrant culture.

The 4 of us met at the end of August during the initiation sports day during the welcoming days at the University of Navarra and we stayed in touch ever since. During the day we see each other on campus and at night we meet up to have drinks or even tapas! Together we wanted to start a blog about our experiences but since there is so much to discover, we each decided to limit ourselves to one topic.

Since Cata is covering the food category, I am not going to dwell about that. Neither am I going to talk about the global social feeling, nor the cultural part because you can already read up on those subjects in the blogs from Jana and Suzan. That aside, I am going to talk about my personal connection with the topic ‘sport facilities’.

Since this was my most recent ‘connection’ with the topic, what better way to start my blog with writing about the sport facilities of Día del deporte (sport day) at the university? There were a lot of teams representing different kinds of sports.

ddd5551808

Back in Belgium at my home university I used to play Zumba, spinning, pilates, fitness, tennis, squash … On the other hand I had never heard of or practiced the following sports: Kropp 3D, Gap, Body art, insanity 45’, Aero-Tono, … so I tried it out on the Sports day!

hqdefault

images

Popular sports in Spain are (just as in Belgium) football, basketball, tennis, cycling, handball, motorcycling, Formula One, water sport etc. Ever since I was a little kid, I loved to do sports. My mom signed me up for gymnastics, ballet, swimming, horseback riding, basketball, tennis, … and even football (even though I didn’t liked that very much).

Interesting to know is that Spain hosted a number of international events such as 1992 Summer Olympics, 1982 FIFA World Cup, 2006 World Basketball Championship, 2010 World Cup, …

Unlike Belgium, Spain is very famous the Spanish dances. 2 famous Spanish dances are the Andalusian flamenco and the paso doble. Furthermore, Spain is also known for the bullfighting, the tomato fights and the Spanish carnival. Annually paddle and Formula 1 races held in the country. The main martial arts in Spain are judo and taekwondo. Besides that are Basque pelota and Valencian pilota traditional Spanish sports.

Now that I’ll be living in Spain for the next couple of months, I would love to practice some typical Spanish sports such as the flamenco. I could watch those dancers for hours without even realizing it. How cool would it be if I could show off my flamenco skills to my family and friends back home 🙂

images (1)     download (2)

Other than football, basketball, tennis, cycling, handball, motorcycling, Formula One, water sport, … Belgium on the other hand is famous for athletics, triathlon and high jumping. I’m only here little over a month now and I already miss watching all the sport games on the TV. This might sound crazy (being a girl and all) but I loved watching tennis games while placing bets on Napoleon Games. If you practice long enough, you can earn a lot of money with it + it’s a fun way to watch the sports games!!

download (1)

It’s time for me to get some good night’s sleep so I’ll be able to cope with the whole emotional rollercoaster of tomorrow! Thanks for reading! Good night and don’t let the bed bugs bite!

If you want to read more about me you can click on the blog page ‘Wanderlust‘.

We’ll keep you posted!

Elien Van der Jeucht 

2 comentarios en “Personal connection with topic: sports

Responder

