Personal connection with habits and customs

Since I was a little child, I have been interested by cultural differences and other people’s ideas, thoughts and habits. Not just by people of the Netherlands, my own country, but especially by inhabitants of other countries. What drives them, why do they behave in the way they do?

One of the most fun things I like to do when I’m alone or sitting somewhere with friends, is observing other people. I always try to read them, and to paint a complete picture of their lives. This is even more fun when I’m abroad, as the differences are more noticeable. Even the walking of people differs per country, so you can imagine how much other aspects can be different.

As I will be in Spain until the end of December, I have all the time to explore the customs and habits of this country in depth. Some of them are easily noticeable, but others require a more detailed study. Over time, I will get accustomed by the ‘deeper’ layers of the Spanish culture, but I’ll start with the easily visible differences.

Of course, my vision of the Spanish culture will be biased by my own Dutch culture. There are so many things that you do without even realizing that a lot of people would do it completely different, until you talk with or observe those people. Things you always took for granted turn out to be strange for a lot of other cultures. Nobody can write about a culture without being biased, as everybody has some form of base culture, even if you have lived in multiple countries. I therefore expect this blog to not only be interesting to people that want to know more about the Spanish way of living, but also about the Dutch culture.

So far, I knew a little about Spain, I knew the obvious things. I’ve been there on holidays a couple of times, mostly to Andalucía, in the southern area of Spain. Things you can easily notice are that people live on the streets, eat late and are used to having a hot meal for both lunch and dinner. But of course, there is more to it. Deeper habits and customs lead to these more easily observable things, and to all the other cultural differences. I will write about those differences in this blog, both in terms of easily observable ones and the customs you only learn when you get in contact with the culture and its people for a longer time.

Below you’ll find a short video with 10 interesting facts about Spain, which already shows some aspects that are done differently in this southern European country. Enjoy!

PS: the picture is found via the Creative Commons Search engine, without a listed author.

Un comentario en “Personal connection with habits and customs

Responder

